top of page

When Getting Accepted Is Not All It’s Cracked Up To Be


Katia reflects back on her first acceptance letter and the factors that led to her decision. She lists appropriate steps for students going through the same process.

I remember my first college acceptance letter like it was just yesterday. I was 18, finally got my driver’s license. An impatient kid ready to cut the umbilical cord once I put on my cap and gown. Already transitioning from dependent teenager to semi-independent young adult, I had all the nervousness brought about by fear of a new life and fear of failure and rejection. It almost felt like those scenes in the movies and TV shows. The anxiety you feel when noticing that semi-glossed letter with your name and address. Those heart-palpating seconds when you struggle to open the envelope. And that gut-wrenching moment when you start reading its contents. It seemed as if I was reading my own sentence –where my life was going to go from then on. But then that fear and nervousness turned into joy and excitement. I was accepted to my first choice! I called my mother and aunt to let them know of the good news. Waved my post-acceptance follow-up e-mail to my sister and cousins. I was relieved. I finally had a future to look forward to.

Yet, this happiness was short lived. Sometimes getting accepted is not all what it is cracked up to be. Especially, when other and better alternatives are waiting for you around the corner. I learned this lesson fairly well after visiting the university campus of my first choice as part of its student acceptance process. My joy and excitement quickly turned to worry and trepidation over the experience I was going to have come September. From the dilapidated dorms and uncaring students to lack of faculty support and unorganized curriculum, the visit left a sour impression on me. It seemed I was back to square one, only I had one path open for me and it looked very bleak.

Fortunately, I listened to that nagging voice in my head when I decided to apply to multiple colleges and universities. In the end I decided to go with my third choice and I couldn’t be happier.

But what went wrong in my research when I applied to my first choice? How did I overlook these obvious flaws when I placed the university at the top of the list? The answer is simple: over expectations. Regardless of how much research one does, if you are thinking idealistically, chances are you have overestimated some college programs because of biased opinions instead of facts. It is always best to check all angles, ask tough questions during visits and get accounts from real students at the college of your choice. While you might think that getting accepted is the end of the story, consider these steps:

  • Evaluate the positives in the institution you chose: Is the campus to your liking? Did you check rankings in its programs? How supportive are faculty and administration?

  • Trace the drawbacks to your experience visiting there: What were the interactions like between students and professors? Did you like the atmosphere there? How receptive were faculty and administration to your questions?

  • Think like a customer and consider your needs: Does the university/college provide the services and financial support you need? Where can you go if you have an issue? Are there programs tailored for students like yourself?

Getting accepted is an exciting moment but it is also a time to reflect on what is best for you. Remember to take your first acceptance with a grain of salt. Wait for other letters and compare services, programs and financial aid packages before making a decision. Yes, the hard part is over but don’t forget to take a final look at your offer.

Katia is RBTM Inc.'s Director of Communications. On her spare time, she enjoys blogging and knitting. As an avid “otaku” (nerd of all things Japanese animation and comics), you can find her reading manga, watching anime and learning Japanese. Katia is a proud pet parent of a Shih-Tzu and a Yorkie. You can contact Katia at kdiaz201@gmail.com.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page